Guy Beringer (pictured), former senior partner at magic circle firm Allen & Overy, is among those recognised in the new year honours list.

Now chair of UK Export Finance and the Legal Education Foundation (LEF), the solicitor has received a CBE for services to export finance and pro bono work in the legal sector.

His fellow LEF governor Tim Dutton, former chair of the Bar Council and deputy high court judge, has also been made a CBE, for services to the UK legal system. The same honour has also been given to Christopher Stephens, chair of the Judicial Appointments Commission, for services to the judiciary. 

Law Society council member Carolyn Kirby, who served as the first woman president of the Law Society in 2002/03, gets an OBE for services to justice and cancer care. She is president of the Mental Heath Tribunal for Wales and chairman, Cancer Information Support Services, SW Wales. 

Former businessman David Norgrove, who chaired the wide-ranging family justice review in 2011, has been knighted. Norgrove chairs both the Family Justice Board and the Low Pay Commission. 

Katrina Robinson (pictured below right), solicitor and head of legal services at Viridian Housing, is made an MBE for services to social housing. She is chair of the Tenancy Fraud Forum. 

Also made an MBE is solicitor Kate O'Rourke, senior counsel at CharlesRussell Speechlys, who is also vice president of the UK Institute of Trade Mark Attorneys. O'Rourke, vice chair of the governing body, City and Islington College, receives the honour for services to further education.

Other legal sector honours include:


His Honour Michael Findlay Baker, QC DL, lately resident judge, Crown court, St Albans and deputy circuit judge. For services to the administration of justice and to the community in Hertfordshire

Charles Ian Paul Denyer, MVO deputy clerk of the Crown in chancery, Crown Office, Ministry of Justice. For services to constitutional and ceremonial administration.

(Betty) Ann Flintham, magistrate and lately deputy chief executive, Magistrates’ Association. For services to the administration of justice.

Carolyn Mary Elizabeth Pike, director of legal services, University of Birmingham. For services to higher education and legal services.


Shaun Rayner, magistrate and chair, Essex Family Panel. For services to the administration of justice and the community in Essex. 

William John Turner, head of governance and legal services, Nottingham Trent University. For services to higher education.