Reviews

Sunni shia landscape

BOOK REVIEW: ​A Concise History of Sunnis & Shi‘is

13 November 2017By Nicholas Goodman

John McHugo

Nashville

BOOK REVIEW: ​In Search of Nice Americans

13 November 2017By Tom Garbett

Geoff Steward

Boardroom

BOOK REVIEW: ​Leading Professionals: Power, Politics, and Prima Donnas

6 November 2017By Sue Bramall

One eye on the top table.

Trotter book

BOOK REVIEW: Why professor Susskind is wrong

30 October 2017By

What’s To Become  of the Legal Profession? - Michael H. Trotter

Courtinside

BOOK REVIEW: Standing in your own two feet

30 October 2017By Tony Roe

A Straightforward Guide to How to Be a Litigant in Person in the New Legal World – representing yourself in the civil courts, Michael Langford

Will

BOOK REVIEW: ​Parker’s Will Precedents

23 October 2017By Sian Thompson

Richard Dew, Leon Pickering

Reading old book

BOOK REVIEW: ​European Union Law: A Very Short Introduction

23 October 2017By David Pickup

Anthony Arnull

Judge drawing

BOOK REVIEW: The judiciary we deserve

9 October 2017By David Pickup

Being a Judge in the Modern World

Criminallaw

BOOK REVIEW: Beyond the basics

9 October 2017By Bartholomew Dalton

While this is an academic textbook rather than a practitioners’ guide, its depth of useful information should not be underestimated.

Crimescene

BOOK REVIEW: Mosaic of clues on crime

9 October 2017By Tom Garbett

‘No readable book could consider all… issues relevant to the scope of criminal law. This unreadable book does not do so either.’ I immediately warmed to Victor Tadros as I read his self-deprecating introduction, but the laughs swiftly come to an end on page two.

Successbook

BOOK REVIEW: Driving success in your law firm

9 October 2017By David Pickup

There must be an easy way for solicitors firms to be successful. But what is success anyway? Is it doing the work you want to do because it is important, or is it just about money? I imagine most of us would say professional success is just as important as ...

Reading old book

BOOK REVIEW: Life from the inside

2 October 2017By David Pickup

The Knife Went In: Real-life murders and our culture, Theodore Dalrymple

Edwardian bus

BOOK REVIEW: A battery of scams

29 September 2017By

A Most Deliberate Swindle, Mick Hamer

Care quality commission

BOOK REVIEW: Tackling elder abuse

11 September 2017By Jane Bennett

Financial Abuse of Older Clients: Law, Practice and Prevention

Student in library reading a book

BOOK REVIEW: Being Simon Haines

11 September 2017By Tony Roe

First steps for young professionals - and solicitor become author.

Nicklinson

BOOK REVIEW: Reverting to types

4 September 2017By Nicholas Goodman

The Ten Types of Human: a new understanding of who we are and who we can be, Dexter Dias

Wwi

BOOK REVIEW: On the home front

7 August 2017By David Pickup

Law and War: Magistrates in the Great War

Selfdefence cover

BOOK REVIEW: The case for the defence

7 August 2017By Adrian Lower

Human Rights and Personal Self-Defense in International Law

More reviews

Browse the magazine

cover201117

The Gazette offers you up-to-the-minute national and international news, opinion, features, in-depth articles plus a jobs and appointments section.

Please click the link below for a digital edition