The Law Society has unveiled the shortlist of lawyers and firms nominated for this year’s Excellence Awards.

The awards recognise the most outstanding practitioners in the legal profession in categories ranging from Excellence in Innovation and Solicitor of the Year – Private Practice, to Excellence in Community Investment.

The nominees for the Gazette Legal Personality of the Year award, now in its third year, are:

  • Saimo Chahal, Bindmans
  • David Allen Green, Preiskel & Co
  • Tim Jones, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer
  • Kathryn Ludlow, Linklaters
  • Karen Todner, Kaim Todner

This year also saw the launch of a new category, Excellence in Conveyancing Practice, which is open to Conveyancing Quality Scheme (CQS)-accredited practices.

The shortlist includes top-100 City firms Clifford Chance, Hogan Lovells and Eversheds whilst local firms also feature heavily in the list. These include Newcastle-based firm Muckle LLP, shortlisted for its work in environmental responsibility, and Rowlinsons Solicitors based in Cheshire, shortlisted in the Lexcel Award for Excellence in Practice Management.

The awards, in collaboration with Infiniti, a leading luxury automotive manufacturer, are open to the entire legal sector, not just solicitors. Entries were judged earlier this month by specialist judges.

The winners will be announced by BBC broadcaster Mishal Husain at a black-tie dinner and presentation ceremony, which will take place on 18 October at Old Billingsgate, London.

The full shortlist and details of the awards ceremony can be found at the Law Society site.

Law Society president Lucy Scott-Moncrieff said: 'The quality of this year’s entries is astonishingly high and a testament to the fact that the profession continues to innovate and deliver high-quality legal services even in these economically challenging times.'