Opinion – Page 15

  • Exampaper
    Opinion

    Qualifying remarks

    8 May 2017

    SQE will provide a necessary minimum rather than the fully-fledged standard the market demands, candidates will still be expected to show as much talent and experience as before

  • Opinion

    ​Stuck in a chain, and not app-y

    1 May 2017

    A conveyancing app that keeps tabs on what is happening down the chain would highlight delays and encourage competitiveness

  • Opinion

    ​More roadblocks in claiming

    1 May 2017

    The road traffic accident claims portal has now been further complicated; demanding all sorts of extra information to a wholly unnecessary degree of precision.

  • Opinion

    ​IT failing the judiciary

    1 May 2017

    Peter Glover (Guest column, 24 April) is absolutely right to be concerned about the bleak outlook which will inevitably result from the government’s obsession with IT in courts and tribunals.

  • Opinion

    ​Peer pressure

    1 May 2017

    Many congratulations to the Gazette for correctly referring to life peers as (eg) ‘Lord Howard (Michael Howard)’ which also tells us who he was before being ennobled. Very helpful.

  • Opinion

    ​Life-affirming?

    1 May 2017

    ‘The Co-operative Group is integrating legal services with funerals to create a new Life Planning Division’ (Gazette, 10 April).

  • Opinion

    Coming clean on costs

    24 April 2017

    My firm Davies Arnold Cooper showed the way on price transparency. What a pity our initiative needs to be relaunched by regulators

  • Opinion

    ​Gigs at the Met

    24 April 2017

    Good story from John Hyde: ‘Legal assistant Lee Hull fined £2k over university lies on bogus CV’. But could I suggest an alternative headline?: ‘Hull gets confused over Leeds universities’.

  • Opinion

    ​Justice is not a feminist issue

    10 April 2017

    Prison does not work for anyone, woman or man. The criminal justice system needs to be rethought for everyone

  • Opinion

    ​Tailor-made

    10 April 2017

    As president, I know from member feedback that practice notes are among the most highly valued things the Law Society does. We harness the expertise of the best in the profession through our committees of volunteers and we share this knowledge with everyone to support good practice.

  • Opinion

    ​Online divorce

    10 April 2017

    At the beginning of March, I was invited to the Ministry of Justice for a workshop explaining more about the online divorce project from HMCTS. I joined representatives from the Law Society, Resolution and the bar.

  • Opinion

    ​Chancery pain

    10 April 2017

    I am a civil litigator whose work rarely takes me to the Chancery Division of the High Court.

  • Opinion

    ​Let’s get a life

    10 April 2017

    I completely empathise with John Greenwood’s concern over the pressure and ennui of a solicitor’s practice (letters, 3 April). What I cannot agree with is his solution of taking on, for example, the duties of a deputy district judge or a recorder as ‘a chance to get away from the ...

  • Opinion

    ​SRA should reopen its doors

    3 April 2017

    Regulator’s decision to exclude public and press from meetings removes vital check and balance on the powers of a tax-raising body

  • Opinion

    ​Sitting pretty in court

    3 April 2017

    John Miller’s letter (13 March) reminds me of my own first day in court.

  • Opinion

    ​Monitoring for signs of stress?

    3 April 2017

    I have become concerned by cases involving friends and former colleagues who appeared to have burnt out and suffered breakdowns.

  • Opinion

    ​Secret shame

    3 April 2017

    As Clive Stafford Smith so vividly demonstrates (‘Secrets and lies’, 27 March), a closed material proceeding is the antithesis of justice.

  • Ed donne
    Opinion

    Conveyancing fraud judgment should put all firms on red alert

    2017-03-30T10:23:00Z

    Indemnity insurers will want to see that firms involved in conveyancing are making adequate checks.

  • Headscarvework
    Opinion

    Symbols in the workplace

    2017-03-27T00:01:00Z

    The position of religious workers has not been as seriously compromised by the ECJ ruling on symbols as some reports have suggested.

  • Opinion

    Online courts – tangled web

    27 March 2017

    Do the ‘powers that be’ have the slightest understanding of how computer-illiterate are many of those seeking to access courts?