The names of the brightest and best from the solicitor profession were today unveiled by the Law Society in its 11th annual Excellence Awards. The awards recognise the commitment, enthusiasm and passion that solicitors dedicate to serving their clients, and - in the process - underpin our world-renowned legal system.

’To be shortlisted for the Excellence Awards is an achievement to be proud of,’ said Society president Joe Egan. ’The awards showcase the first rate work and dedication of the profession to their clients and the wider community, and the event is one of the most rewarding and memorable days in the legal calendar.’

Finalists are selected by a panel of experts from within and beyond the profession, and demonstrate the expertise and values shared by solicitors working across England and Wales, from small local practices and in-house teams, to international City firms.

The shortlist for Gazette Legal Personality of the Year, picked by the Gazette editorial team, is: Shirley Brookes, PwC Legal;  Briony Clarke, Taylor Haldane Barlex;  David Greene, Edwin Coe; Christopher Nott, Capital Law; Dr Sandie Okoro, World Bank; and Clive Stafford Smith, Reprieve.

’This eleventh anniversary year of celebrating excellence in the profession is a testament to the hard work of our members, and of their sustained contribution, not only to clients but to society as a whole,” said Joe Egan.

The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony hosted by BBC Radio 4 Today programme presenter Mishal Husain on 19 October at the Hilton Park Lane Hotel, London.

For the full shortlist please visit:

To book tickets to the Law Society Excellence Awards 2017 ceremony, please visit: