The former chair of the Solicitors Regulation Authority and a former senior circuit judge are among the solicitors recognised in the 2015 Birthday Honours List, published last night. 

Charles William Plant, who retired from the SRA at the end of 2014, receives a CBE for services to legal education and regulation. Plant, admitted in 1969, is a consultant at City firm Herbert Smith Freehills, where he was a litigation and arbitration partner for almost 30 years. 

His Honour Iain McCormick Hamilton, former senior circuit judge and designated family judge for Manchester receives the same honour,  for services to family justice. Hamilton was admitted as a solicitor in 1974. He was appointed an assistant recorder in 1992, a recorder in 1996 and a circuit judge in 2000. He was appointed senior circuit judge in 2010.

Derek Searby, a retired solicitor and judge from Yorkshire, was made an CBE for services to the administration of justice and the tribunals judiciary.

Judith Portrait, admitted in 1972 and partner at London private client firm Portrait Solicitors, was been awarded an OBE for charitable services.

Crown Prosecution Service solicitor Shane Nainappan (pictured below), admitted in 1999, has been awarded an MBE in the Queen’s Birthday Honours list for his services to law & order, in particular international co-operation.

Nainappan has worked in the United Arab Emirates as the first CPS liaison magistrate and asset recovery adviser, where his efforts led to the first extraditions from the UAE to the UK and what is believed to be the first restraint, sale and repatriation of criminal proceeds by a western authority in relation to the recovery of criminal assets from the UAE.

Simon Hughes, barrister, former MP and justice minister under the coalition government, received a knighthood in the list. Another barrister honoured was Helen Mahy, former general counsel at National Grid, who received a CBE for services to business and voluntary service, particularly to the legal profession and diversity in the workplace.

Helen Pitcher, chairman of the QC Selection Panel, received an OBE.