Regular Gazette columnist Jonathan Goldsmith has been elected to the Law Society’s council, Chancery Lane announced today. He is among eight members returned by contested elections to the 2017 council. Five of those newly elected are women. 

In the results of contested elections announced today, Sundeep Bhatia, Nwabueze Nwokolo and Koser Shaheen are elected members for ethnic minorities; Goldsmith for EU matters; Daniel Fitzpatrick for housing law; Evelyn Ofori-Koree for immigration law; Laura McKoy for junior lawyers up to five years’ PQE and Prisca Wharton for trainees and LPC students. 

Former Society president Andrew Caplen is standing down. 

The new council takes office from tomorrow’s annual general meeting, at which Robert Bourns will hand over the presidency of the Society to Joe Egan. 

The full 2017 list of council members is available here.