A new team of justice ministers will start work today after Theresa May's ministerial reshuffle made almost a clean sweep of junior ministerial ranks following the appointment of Liz Truss as lord chancellor.

Casualties include justice spokesman in the Lords Lord Faulks and Dominic Raab, a close ally of Truss's predecessor Michael Gove. 

Barrister Sir Oliver Heald MP (pictured) returns to the government as minister of state at the Ministry of Justice. The former solicitor general campaigned for the UK to remain in the EU. 

The government also announced Sam Gyimah MP and Dr Philip Lee MP as parliamentary under-secretaries (junior ministers). Gyimah, a former investment banker, served as chief whip and education minister under David Cameron. Lee is a general practitioner and a former member of the Energy and Climate Change select committee. 

Over the weekend, Truss tweeted that she was delighted that the three 'reform-minded colleagues' would be joining her

Meanwhile intellectual property minister Lady Neville-Rolfe is promoted to minister of state at the newly merged Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy.

Of the casualties, Caroline Dinenage MP has moved sideways to become parliamentary under-secretary at the Department for Education. Raab returns to the back benches.

Today's Times quotes Faulks as saying that he resigned because of fears that Truss would not have the clout to challenge the prime minister over crucial issues such as judicial independence.