Opinion – Page 10

  • Jo Edwards
    Opinion

    Dispelling the D-Day myth

    15 January 2018

    Media hype around Divorce Day does not reflect well on solicitors.

  • Letters
    Opinion

    ​Spectre of discrimination

    8 January 2018

    Legal aid quango seems to have decided that some sections of the profession, although qualified, cannot undertake work in criminal law

  • Letters
    Opinion

    Land consent problem solved

    8 January 2018

    I had a similar query to R.M. Napier (‘Land consent conundrum’, letters, 4 December) in ascertaining how to approach a covenant restrictive of the user of a property that I was purchasing for a client.I accordingly searched online for ‘release of restrictive covenant HMLR’ and, lo and behold, a Land ...

  • Opinion

    ​Court is no laughing matter

    8 January 2018

    While it is always dangerous to underestimate how seriously a court may view your case, it can be equally risky to make a joke, however well-intentioned.

  • Letters
    Opinion

    ​Right Ho, and much obliged

    8 January 2018

    I have just read the 4 December Obiter. Parodying Wodehouse is notoriously difficult, but this has been written with considerable skill, knowledge of the master (and the subject in question) and with great elegance. And throwing in a P.C. Wren reference is the cherry on the top. Many congratulations to ...

  • trans protest london
    Opinion

    Fighting for trans rights

    4 December 2017

    The transphobic agenda of many in the media is impeding our attempts to raise awareness and gain basic rights for the trans community.

  • Computer
    Opinion

    Technology is no silver bullet

    4 December 2017

    Technology was, is and must always remain a tool leading to effective and better delivery of justice, rather than some panacea. 

  • Land Registry in Croydon
    Opinion

    Land consent conundrum

    4 December 2017

    Registry response to question of neighbouring owner’s consent to restricted land is unhelpful.

  • Toronto
    Opinion

    ​Power in the Union

    27 November 2017

    International organisations are important conduits for the exchange of knowledge – your letters to the editor of the Gazette

  • Letters
    Opinion

    Cocktail of muddle and delay

    27 November 2017

    Having practised in residential conveyancing for most of my working life, I was recently reminded of just how bad things have become.

  • Letters
    Opinion

    Righting wrongs

    27 November 2017

    Your 12 November article on bullying in the courtroom is a timely reminder of certain practices that have absolutely no place in our judicial system. But may I raise just one note of caution.

  • Letters
    Opinion

    It’s a dog’s life

    27 November 2017

    There seems to be an increasing trend to take your pooch to the office. Indeed, one firm boasts as many as three office dogs on its website.

  • Letters
    Opinion

    No complaints

    27 November 2017

    With regard to the SRA register of disciplinary sanctions, perhaps the regulator would also open a register of all our (very justified) criticisms of its operation.

  • Letters
    Opinion

    A private function

    20 November 2017

    To deny the seriously injured the right to choose private treatment would grossly undermine the most important aim of compensation

  • Letters
    Opinion

    ​Courts not fit for purpose

    20 November 2017

    System is grinding to a halt.

  • Letters
    Opinion

    ​Blame game

    20 November 2017

    I suppose it rarely crosses the minds of property or commercial lawyers that they may create enmities sufficient to provoke violence. For criminal lawyers, there is the reassurance that they are on the side of those who might harbour and carry out violent acts. For the family lawyer it ...

  • Monidipa Fouzder
    Opinion

    A judge should have the final say over a child's fate

    2017-11-19T14:27:00Z

    Should the worst happen to me, I would rather a judge, than my mum, decide what is in my best interests.

  • James ward hi res
    Opinion

    Wet signatures protect against fraud and abuse

    2017-11-15T14:40:00Z

    Let’s make lasting powers of attorney easier - but we must be mindful of the risks involved.

  • Letters
    Opinion

    ​Flexible hours can’t always work

    13 November 2017

    Proposals to increase the diversity of the profession are sometimes incompatible with the day-to-day realities of legal practice

  • Letters
    Opinion

    ​Who speaks for me?

    13 November 2017

    Diversity is obviously commendable, but what about the working-class white male?