Opinion – Page 9

  • Letters
    Opinion

    Base reform on fact not whim

    26 February 2018

    Qamar Anwar calls for a debate about how personal injury victims are treated and the way in which insurers operate.

  • Letters
    Opinion

    Fluid concern

    26 February 2018

    Neil Somerfield raises concerns over mandatory gender titles in county courts.

  • Letters
    Opinion

    Dragged through the mud

    19 February 2018

    Sexual harassment must be stopped, but allegations are sometimes made up and ‘naming and shaming’ is not necessarily the solution.

  • Letters
    Opinion

    Justice needs protecting

    19 February 2018

    The appointment of yet another lord chancellor is indicative of the low regard in which the present administration holds the role of justice secretary.

  • Letters
    Opinion

    Branch finder

    19 February 2018

    In reponse to Kate Neil’s article on banking for lawyers, Angela Jackson finds that ‘the credit controller who knew his customers’ is alive and well.

  • Letters
    Opinion

    Hidden abuse of power

    12 February 2018

    With bullying rife at the highest level, the partnership structure needs an overhaul; until then the profession is unfit for purpose

  • Letters
    Opinion

    Full disclosure – at last?

    12 February 2018

    Criminal lawyers will have been horrified by the revelations about non-disclosure of evidence helpful to the defence.

  • Letters
    Opinion

    When bail plea stalled

    12 February 2018

    I noticed with interest a Gazette piece on the perils of deploying humour in court. I once represented a somewhat obnoxious client in the local magistrates’ court.

  • Letters
    Opinion

    Crumbling patriarchy

    5 February 2018

    Events at the Presidents Club Charity Dinner serve to highlight yet again the uneven playing field encountered by women at work 

  • Opinion

    Equal pay disparity

    5 February 2018

    What legal remedies are available for those who have suffered pay discrimination at the hands of their employers?

  • Letters
    Opinion

    ​Time to resurrect Justice

    29 January 2018

    After the government reshuffled its ‘middle-ranking’ justice secretary, David Gauke should act now to restore the role of lord chancellor

  • Letters
    Opinion

    End divorce marketing puff

    29 January 2018

    I am a card-carrying member of the Co-op. Nevertheless, I cannot be the only one taken aback by its claim over launching its ‘new online divorce service’ (news, 16 January).

  • Letters
    Opinion

    Red-faced over new job offer

    29 January 2018

    Your recent articles and letters about notifying trainees of whether they will be offered a post with the firm after completing their training contract brings back a memory which, at the time, made me want the earth to swallow me up whole.

  • Letters
    Opinion

    Price of ambition

    22 January 2018

    Trainee solicitors should not be penalised for looking for jobs elsewhere if their current firm waits until the last minute to offer them a position.

  • Letters
    Opinion

    Overcharged clients

    22 January 2018

    Mark Carlisle defends the role of costs recovery firms.

  • Letters
    Opinion

    Office politics

    22 January 2018

    The appointment of a lawyer lord chancellor is welcome, but we must not forget the fact that this high office was imperfectly abolished by Tony Blair, so that our colleague is entitled to wear the robes but has no office. Should this not revive the will of all lawyers (most ...

  • Letters
    Opinion

    Victor’s justice

    22 January 2018

    On referring to the ‘Nuremberg principles’ under which 12 leading Nazis were sentenced to death, your reviewer (The Internationalists And Their Plan to Outlaw War) failed to mention one glaring weakness: these principles were only applied by judges from the winning side against defendants from the losing side. Not only ...

  • Letters
    Opinion

    Worboys: searching questions

    15 January 2018

    For the Parole Board to have its vital independence of decision-making diluted would be bad news for our handling of offender rehabilitation.

  • Opinion

    Breaking point

    15 January 2018

    I am sure that John Greenwood ( Gazette , 20 November) is by no means the only solicitor to have suffered at the hands of a disappointed opponent. While still an articled clerk, my firm’s office was almost burnt to the ground by an arsonist whose wife we were ...

  • Opinion

    Stay lucky

    15 January 2018

    A dignitary interviewed on the radio the other day was asked what had been the most important factor in his life – the answer was luck. Looking back on a long legal career, I realise how vital this was. I was lucky after National Service, knowing virtually nothing about ...